Understanding Terminology When Shopping For CBD Gummies

CBD gummies are a convenient way to get your CBD. They are more portable than CBD oil, and they certainly taste better. However, the first time you shop for CBD gummies and start looking at all of the different brands, you might be a little confused. There's a lot of terminology used in the product descriptions that can take a little deciphering. This article will help you with that!

Here are the key terms you'll want to understand when shopping for CBD gummies.


When hemp flowers are pressed, the resulting extract contains more than just CBD. It also contains other cannabinoids and some terpenes, which are the scented compound in hemp. This entire extract is known as full-spectrum CBD oil, or sometimes full-spectrum hemp extract. If the manufacturer puts this extract straight into the gummies without first removing anything, then you have full-spectrum CBD gummies. Often, the accessory compounds in the full spectrum CBD oil make it more effective at relieving pain and anxiety. However, not everyone likes the strong hemp flavor that these gummies have.

Broad Spectrum

Broad spectrum CBD is very similar to full spectrum CBD, but with one difference. Any traces of THC have been removed from the broad-spectrum CBD. So, if you want to avoid THC entirely for some reason, broad-spectrum CBD gummies are a good choice.

CBD Isolate

Gummies made with CBD isolate contain only CBD. They do not contain any other terpenes or cannabinoids such as you would find in a full-spectrum or broad-spectrum gummy. CBD isolate gummies don't tend to be as strong, but they do have a much milder flavor. And if you've reacted poorly to terpenes or other cannabinoids in the past, CBD isolate is the way to go.


You want to buy gummies that have been lab-tested. It means they were sent to a lab to make sure they contain the amount of CBD that the package claims. Typically, they have also been tested to see whether they contain any pesticide residue or heavy metal contamination.


If CBD gummies are labeled vegan, it means they do not contain any animal products. More specifically, it means they are made with pectin as a thickener, rather than gelatin. Gelatin is an animal product used to thicken non-vegan gummies. Some people prefer pectin gummies not only for ethical reasons but also because they have a softer, more enjoyable texture than gelatin gummies.

Understanding these terms should help you choose more suitable CBD gummies.